PDA

View Full Version : Small Edges and Bankroll Growth

Toffler
02-04-2005, 01:02 AM
I am relatively new to poker. I am a former BJ player. Until a few years ago, it was thought that a good BJ player should push small edges like splitting TT vs 5 or 6 and doubling down with T v T or T v A when the count is such that the play is correct. A smart fellow, Karl Janacek, showed that such plays actually slow bankroll growth because of increased variance. He showed the plays were only correct when the edge was higher (that is, make the plays at higher counts) and your bankroll would actually double sooner even though you were giving up EV. He even showed that some negative EV plays like insuring a 20 when the count was not quite high enough would result is faster bankroll growth by decreasing variance.

Now to Hold'em poker. I think the same might be true for certain plays in poker. Examples would be going for a gut shot with slightly more than break even odds. Playing small pairs in a loose aggressive game against 5-6 limpers. Playing marginal holding on the button in unraised pots. It might even be incorrect to call a raise or reraise with certain holdings like TT or 99 against certain oppenents even with slightly positive EV. I suspect giving up some small EV in these situations might actually result in faster bankroll growth. Has this been studied with computer sims for poker? Is this concept wrong for poker?

K C
02-04-2005, 02:18 AM
I'm no expert in blackjack but assuming a negative expectation, anything that would increase variance would have to increase losses. Then again, maybe you count cards or something and get an edge that way.

With a positive expectation though, you're adding equity to the account each time you take advantage of an edge in the odds. And variance is a zero sum game, as long as you don't have to drop down to a lower playing level. So without that consideration, it is indeed advantageous to push any edge that arises.