PDA

View Full Version : Chasing with a Paired Baord

Chuckster
02-03-2005, 11:57 AM
Posted this in MTT thread, but I think this might better apply HERE:

If you are getting the correct odds to call a flush or str8 draw, but the board is paired up, either on the flop, or on 4th street, is it overall +EV, to chase the draw?

I seem to be running into lots of boats lately, although I am getting proper pot odds to chase my draw.

This mainly applies for the 1st few levels of MTT, where I like to play my suited connectors.

How do you guy play this?

Thanks in advance

revots33
02-03-2005, 02:32 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I seem to be running into lots of boats lately, although I am getting proper pot odds to chase my draw.

[/ QUOTE ]

When calculating the pot odds, are you discounting outs for the possibility of a full boat? Might be enough to swing a call to a fold I'd think. I'm no expert but I'd think a paired board would require better odds to continue chasing the draw, because of the added possibility you're drawing dead.

gaming_mouse
02-03-2005, 05:26 PM
This really depends on the action.

Let's assume the worst. The flop action is crazy, it is likely that someone already has trips or a set, and you want to know if you should give it up right there.

In this situation the chance of a boat coming, assuming that your hand does not pair with one of the two remaining flop cards or the turn card (and assuming that no one already has a boat), is:

1-(42/48)*(38/47) = .29

The cleanliness of you own outs is also important, because you are really interested in the chance that your draw comes in without pairing the board.

If your own outs are all clean in that none of them can possibly pair the board (eg, in the case of a flush draw, the two non-paired flop cards are both of your suit), then you should be more inclined to bet. In this case, the turn cannot possibly make someone a boat and give you a flush at the same time. Assume pot size of X BB. Either (further explanation below):