PDA

View Full Version : Pot Equity (some help please)

djshawk
02-03-2005, 11:54 AM
I've been playing about 4 months. Read TOP & SSH twice. Still hovering about in the Party .5/$1.

One of the biggest topics I don't think i'm 100% comfortable with is pot equity, so I've come on here to ask if one of you guru's would explain it to me. I'm about 90% there with it but something is still not quite right, which makes me pay little attention to it when playing my hands. Clearly bad.

So... If someone wants to help me out I'd be most appreciative /images/graemlins/smile.gif

elmitchbo
02-03-2005, 12:59 PM
i'm not an expert here, but i'm going to take a stab. pot equity and pot odds are closely related. it sounds like you probably have a good grip on pot odds. pot odds are used to decide if you should call a bet with your draw. pot equity is used to decide if you should bet out or raise for value with your draw.

example.... you have ATs. there's a raise before the flop and you call, along with 4 others. 5 players see the flop and we have 10sb in the pot. you flop your flush draw.

pot odds tell you that you should call a bet here, because you're about 4 to 1 to make the draw and getting 11 to 1 or better on your money. pot equity is just a little different. with 5 players you would be contributing 20% of the money in the pot, but you have a 35% chance to hit the flush. that gives you a 15% equity edge, so every dollar that goes in the pot makes you 15% more than your fair share. in this situation pot equity says you should raise to get money in the pot.

with four people in the pot you would be 25% of the money in the pot. with the same flush draw you would have a 10% equity edge. with 3 people in the pot you would be about even... 33% share with a 35% chance to hit the draw. did that make sense?

comstock
02-03-2005, 01:07 PM