PDA

View Full Version : Counting Outs – Taking into account impact of Hole Cards?

MJU
02-02-2005, 07:23 AM
I am new to taking poker seriously and have been working my way through SSHE, TOP and HEPFAP.

I posted a question in the beginners section and whilst I got an answer it didn’t fully answer my question. I’ve since thought about my question some more and think I have found the solution but wanted to check it on this forum.

If we take the example of 4 to a flush with 1 card to come the guidance is I have 9 outs from the 46 unseen cards, therefore my draw has odds of 5.1/1 (46/9). If the pot is greater than 5.1 times the cost of the bet to see the river card then it is +EV for me to see the river.

Now where I was confusing myself was thinking, hell, I don’t have 9 outs as I know on the basis of probability that some of those 9 outs will have already been taken by the hole cards of the other players at the table. Lets say the table is 10 handed then with 1 card to come it would actually be split 3.52 outs already taken in the 18 unseen hole cards and 5.38 remaing to be hit in the 28 cards still in the dealers hand.

This was the math that confused me at first but it is now clear to me that my odds of 5.1 stay the same as I now have 5.38 cards to hit out of 28 available. May be obvious to some but it took me a while to work this out.

Overall, this way of thinking has no impact on the odds and therefore decision making, however, from a psychological perspective it feels worse only having 5.38 outs on average as opposed to 9. I guess the same principle applies to open ended straight draws etc but ultimately the odds of hitting your card are going to remain the same.

Having had these thoughts and worked it through I certainly feel better informed knowing that there are only 5.38 cards out there on average that help me and not 9, even though the odds remain the same.