PDA

View Full Version : quiting my job for poker was a bad idea

mj2
01-28-2005, 07:25 AM
7 months into playing poker full time, and i'm very frustrated. I feel like i've learned so much over the last several months, yet my best month playing full time was my first month. My statistics have gotten much better but my results have not. If your poker stats seem to be in the correct range, where do you then go if you're still struggling? Also, and more importantly, has anyone quit a good job to play poker and then gone back to working after about a year? If so, how did you explain that on your resume? I worked as an accountant and also as an investment analyst, and i'm guessing that most employers won't be impressed that instead of working for the last year, i've been playing online poker.

whiskeytown
01-28-2005, 07:40 AM
lie - I dunno - say you were on sabbatical in Switzerland or something -

won't say I told you so - but maybe now you'll have a bit more respect when we say, keep the day job.

RB

mackthefork
01-28-2005, 08:30 AM
Yeah sticking with the 9-5 is safest, whats done is done though, you can lie, its easy. I had a year I needed to get rid of on my CV from my late teens, all I do is use years for the dates of early stuff and then progress to years and months later on, it all looks neat with no gaps, and no awkward questions. Seeming as your gap is recent you need to come up with a different idea to that, but there are many ways, just make it something you won't have to talk to people about, lies have a way of getting out of hand and [censored] up your head. Good luck.

Regards Mack

FMMonty
01-28-2005, 08:49 AM
When I had a 9 month gap in my CV, I jsut did the classic of saying I wanted to see the world, I traveled everywhere, South America, Africa, Asia etc... And tehn say you're glad you did it, and now that it's out of your system you can get back to work, employers love that stuff trust me!

37offsuit
01-28-2005, 09:05 AM