PDA

View Full Version : help me to manage my bankroll!

Leduke
01-28-2005, 05:28 AM
Hello everybody, I'm new in poker and now i'm actually searching for a tips of strategy and how to manage the bankroll. (when i sit down to play a poker i always found my self in loosing big money) I found interesting poker rule (http://www.ipfpoker.com/online-poker-articles/manage-your-bankroll-/21) of managing bankroll - 10% rule. does anyone uses it? /images/graemlins/confused.gif and how you say yourself - "stop playing today!" Could you give me some advice in here?

skoal2k4
01-28-2005, 05:34 AM
make sure you're a winning poker player. If you're not, then bankroll management is means nothing

deacsoft
01-28-2005, 08:05 AM
That system is true in the fact that by only using 10% of your bankroll you can never go broke. It's a mathematical impossibility. However it is flawed because, in some opinions, you should only leave a game when the conditions of yourself or the game are no longer favorable.

I am unaware of any default setting for bankroll management aside from 300BB of the stake you are playing semi-mandate. I believe there is no exact science to bankroll managemant because every player has their own lifestyle, spending habits, and amount of bills.

Isura
01-28-2005, 10:24 AM
Start with a small stake and play low-limits. You don't really need the 300BB bankroll right away. Just start with a small amount that you are comfortable with, and try to build it up. If you lose it all, just deposit more and try again. You might lose your stake a few times, but if you are motivated to learn, you will improve and start building up some winnings. That's the way I started out anyways.

SheridanCat
01-28-2005, 10:33 AM
I agree with those who have said that you should just try to live by the 300BB rule if you want to avoid ruin. If you can afford to reload, you can play with fewer than 300BBs in your bankroll.