PDA

View Full Version : On reconciling Morton's Theorem and The Fundamental Theorem of Poker

SeattleJake
01-26-2005, 07:08 PM
I'm relatively new to poker, and even newer to this forum, but I've been finding so much useful information, and learning a lot from it, that I thought it was time to contribute. I suppose I should hang out here a bit longer before posting something like this, but WTH here goes...

Reconciling the apparent contradiction between Morton's Theorem and The Fundamental Theorem of Poker:

The contradiction comes from the existence of a range of pot sizes in multi-way action, where Morton's Theorem implies that you may want an opponent to fold correctly instead of calling incorrectly, even though Sklansky's Fundamental Theorem states that you lose when an opponent acts correctly and gain when an opponent acts incorrectly. This is usually justified by the caveat that the Fundamental Theorem does not apply to many multi-way pots.

Ideally, we would like to take both Sklansky's Fundamental Theorem and Morton's Theorem as being universally correct, without relying on this "exception to the rule" justification. I submit that to reconcile the apparent contradiction, the correct action for the opponent in question must be neither to fold nor to call.

In Morton's example, you hold AdKc and the flop is Ks9h3h. You believe opponent A to have AhTh (nut flush draw with 9 outs) and opponent B to have Qc9c (second pair with 4 outs). The turn card comes 6d. When you bet the turn, player A is getting the correct pot odds to call. When player A calls, player B must decide whether to call or not.

Player B's expectation when calling, is 4/46 * (P+2) - 42/46 * (1). Setting this equal to 0, gives 8.5 big bets as the threshold at which it would be correct for Player B to call.