PDA

View Full Version : Microlimits

Maurader1
01-22-2005, 10:10 PM
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to the poker games, have mostly been playing freeroll tourneys and learning a bit from that...I started reading the forum and am learning tons from the posted hands etc. On of the things I noticed was to bet aggresivly when you think you have the best hand. I played a hand at Pacific, microlimit 0.01/0.02, BB, and flopped a boat, with like 7 players in the pot. SB bets, and I raised, and the next 5 people folded. Should I have just called, expecting to get more money in the pot from those who would probably call one bet?

Is it possible to beat microlimits, like 0.01/0.02 or 0.05/0.10 or am I just wasting my time? And if I move up to 0.25/0.5 and up, will the things I learn in the microlimits have to be adjusted?

Thanks all!

Harv72b
01-22-2005, 11:52 PM
In a .01/.02 game, the field folding like that is an extremely rare result of fastplaying your hand...far more often, you'll see people cold calling your 2 bets or even raising you.

As you're probably starting to pick up from reading this board, the key factor in when to slowplay a hand is not what you have, but rather, what you think someone else might have, and the likelihood of them making a good second best hand. That, and the size of the pot. If 7 people saw the flop, then the pot was already large...you want to bet and raise quickly, both to punish people for trying to draw out on you (even though most will be drawing dead in that case), and to grow the pot large enough that your opponents will want to chase anyway. You will very rarely find yourself in a situation where you should slowplay...although all of us tend to slowplay too often.

Microlimits are an excellent place to gain a basic understanding of the game. A big part of playing poker on the internet is being able to see the proper play quickly...and the only way you can gain that skill is through repetition and experience.