PDA

View Full Version : Question about Ultimate Bet tourneys not being fair

jasonkm1
01-22-2005, 05:21 PM
Hello,
I'm new to UB and was wondering something about the tourneys. I signed up for a $17,000 guaranteed tourney that had a start time of 4pm at 3:59pm. There was a $100+$9 fee with only about 150 people entered. I signed up because it seems like it would be a good deal, with UB covering the extra $2000 or so in prize money. At 4 pm nothing happened; I know from playing other sites that the tourney tables just open up automaticaally. Then I look and see that they changed the time to 4:30, presumbly to get more players so they don't have to lay the extra $2000. Isn't this kind of dishonest? Whey call it a guarantee $17000 prize money tourney if they won't start it at the time listed if they don't have enough players to cover the $17000? I tried to back out of the tourney once I found this out but it is nonrefundable. The other place that I play these guaranteed tourneys is at WSEX poker and they never do this kind of thing.

MicroBob
01-22-2005, 05:29 PM
If UB really is delaying the start-times of their guaranteed tourneys in order to cut-down the overlay in their prize-pool then I agree it is pretty cheap and dishonest and I wouldn't play in them anymore.

I haven't played UB in awhile but was considering it...partly based on the promotional e-mails I have receiveed regarding their 'guaranteed' tourneys since I suspected there would be some value in some of these.

Based on your account i will think twice about participating in these guaranteed tourneys.

I believe there are many sites out there that still have decent overlay tourneys that don't delay their starts like that.

obeythekitten
01-22-2005, 05:55 PM
i dont believe a word of what he wrote, i have NEVER heard of UB moving the start time of a tournament, i'd be willing to bet that you simply misread the text.