PDA

View Full Version : immoral unethical angle shooting or smart play???????

oneifbypez
01-22-2005, 02:11 PM
im a newbie to the site so i apologize for the poor construction to this. here is my question, i believe i have a grasp on string raises and string bets, however, i do not know if this form of play falls into that category. if said player does in fact announce that he is raising, then proceeds to wait up to 3 full non exaggerated minutes in hopes of reading the previous callers or hoping that forthcoming bettors muck, whether he be shuffling his chips or not, is this unethical, immoral, tactical, or what????? personally, i feel it is detrimental to the speed and enjoyment of the game, but after a 90 minute post game conversation on its legitamacy, i would like some of you chime in who have logged many more hours at tables than me and have seen this before. i apologize if this has been touched on several times before, but i couldnt find anything to satisfy my question.

thanks for your time in advance,
ken

smoore
01-22-2005, 03:01 PM
That would be annoying. I would just call the clock on him after about 15 seconds. The hand clock for my game is one minute. I guess it's within his rights as a player, but all the other players have the right to call the clock on him. We have a guy like this at our games and I'm constantly clocking him.

Arsene Lupin III
01-22-2005, 09:15 PM
Okay.. Here's the deal.

Online sites allow a player a certain a lot of time, very often based on the importance of a pot. If you're in a tournament, at the final table, and a large amount of chips are at stake in a very big pot, taking your time is very important. If you're in a home game with a $5 buyin and someone is trying to determine a size for a river raise, screw him. Give him 60 (or even 30) seconds to make up his mind. If he doesn't act after 30 seconds, muck his hand.