PDA

View Full Version : NL hand chart

Steve
01-22-2005, 03:51 AM
Just wondering if any of the NL books (I haven't seen any yet) actually come with a "hand chart" similar to HPFAP, but for NL/PL.

Basically it would have to make some assumptions, something like:

-- stacks are, say, 40BB deep
-- assume all raises and re-raises are basically the size of the pot.

This chart would then address what hands to open-raise with from what position, what hands to re-raise with, etc.

I'd be curious to see some various pros options on this because they might vary.

fishfeet
01-22-2005, 03:55 AM
I dont beleive in a set of 'rules' when it comes to betting.. what hands to bet... ect.
It depends on your style and skill level. It depends on your oppenents style and skill level.

Sure you are going to raise with AA. But do you re-reraise if you are reraised? Some say yes, some say no.. and the smart ones say 'it depends on the situation and your oppenent'

boondockst
01-22-2005, 06:47 AM
i'm no pro....but i seriously don't think you should be at a real money NL table if you're using any sort of "chart" I think you know what to play and only lack the confidence in your preflop play.

jtr
01-22-2005, 08:01 AM
Why the disdainful attitude to charts, Boondockst?

Of course I take your point that once you've learned your way around a no-limit table, you should have figured out that small pocket pairs are great for limping in for set value, KQo is a potentially very dubious hand, etc., etc., etc. But I think the original poster asks a good question.

Most of us probably started out explicitly using a chart, right? And just because the strategy encoded in that chart has now been internalized and we don't need to look at the chart anymore, well, that doesn't mean it's not a good idea to learn from a good chart in the first place.