PDA

View Full Version : Pot equity

Peter-23
01-20-2005, 11:57 PM
Hi all,

Im not that experienced so this is probably a stupid question. /images/graemlins/confused.gif /images/graemlins/smirk.gif

Lets say that me and one opponent are in the pot on the flop. I have the nut flush draw giving me 35% to get the flush at the river.

There is 2 small bet in the pot, and my opponent bet (now 3 small bet).

Now should I call?

My resoning is as follows.

If I call and I don't complete my flush on the turn and my opponent bet again there will be 3 big bet in the the pot giving me 3 to 1 pot odds. But at this stage I have 4.1 to 1 to get my flush and should fold.

Now should I really have called on the flop?
Whas my pot equity really 35%? Or was it 19.6%?

As you can see I am a bit confused on how to calculate the pot equity.

I would appriciate any help.

Andy Howes
01-21-2005, 03:55 AM
You should most likely raise as a semibluff. Your chance of getting him to fold added to your chance of improving make it a good play. Plus, you've got an overcard right? I'd probably bet the turn too, lots of people call on the flop with the intention of folding on the turn.

rmarotti
01-21-2005, 03:59 AM
Read "Small Stakes Hold 'Em" by Ed Miller. This question would get more answers in the Heads Up/Short Handed forum

Peter-23
01-21-2005, 10:25 AM
Thanks for your help.

But perhaps I should have been more clear.

I have just purchased "Small stakes hold'em" and would like to know if I understand the context in the "Pot equity" section.

So the hand in my example is not my primary concern here, but if I have calculaded my pot equity correctly.

So if we dissregard the hand and just say we have a sure 9 outer, if they come I win and if they dont I lose.

On the flop I will have a 35% chans of winning and on a pot of 3 bets that would give me 1.05 small bet according to pot equity.

So I should not raise, just call. But then I probably wont have the odds to call on the turn.