PDA

View Full Version : Correct percentage of flops seen

PBaek
01-20-2005, 08:03 PM
I am not very experienced at O8B but have a question about starting hands.

If you are playing correctly in the average O8B game full ring game, how large a percentage of the flops should you pay to see?

Best regards, Peter.

Buzz
01-20-2005, 11:06 PM
Peter - Depends on how your opponents are playing, I think.

If you're just starting, it's at least safer for you to play tighter than your opponents. If you have nine opponents and play the top 100/9 or 11% of the hands dealt to you, you'll usually have as good or better a starting hand as anyone at the table. But I don't think you have to play that tightly, even as a beginner.

I suggest as a beginner maybe playing the top 15% of the hands dealt to you when not posting the big blind. (Playing the big blind is a different story, as is playing the small blind). That amounts to about one hand out of seven, or roughly one hand per round when you're not posting a blind.

Just my opinion.

Buzz

Iceman
01-20-2005, 11:07 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I am not very experienced at O8B but have a question about starting hands.

If you are playing correctly in the average O8B game full ring game, how large a percentage of the flops should you pay to see?

Best regards, Peter.

[/ QUOTE ]

15%.

PBaek
01-21-2005, 08:26 AM
Thanks a lot!

You seem to agree on about 15% and that sounds fair.

Now I have another question /images/graemlins/wink.gif

When I see games where there are consitantly 4 or more players seeing each flop - I can assume this is a good game (loose game) or is this not nessecarily so?

Thanks again, Peter.

chaos
01-21-2005, 09:19 AM
I play between 15% and 20% outside of the blinds. This is about 3 hands every two times around.

Mike Cappelletti in his latest book recommends 30% outside the blinds.