PDA

View Full Version : Value of state universities: overrated

pshreck
01-20-2005, 04:08 PM
I went to Lehigh University (private, waspy, top 40 university) for 5 semesters, then decided to leave because basically I hated everyone there.

I worked as an accountant with United Technologies for 9 months, before officially transfering to UConn. I took only 9 credits and played poker full time this past semester. Compared to what I am paying for Uconn now (roughly 5k) vs what my parents paid for Lehigh (roughly 31K), you would assume I'm getting a better value.

Well it's not true. Only from personal experience and talking to many peers, I see that state schools in general suck. I know probably around 35 kids that went to either UConn or UMass, and generally they hated it. Their job offers are pathetic (20k-30k a year) with a business degree, which is less than what I made without one. Many had no offers whatsoever. This... in best year in the past decade for college grads. My friends at Notre Dame, Brown, Loyola, Vassar, and Tulane all have jobs lined up, and seem to have loved their college experience.

The teachers in general are less educated/less prepared to teach. My advisor personally goes out of his way to make sure our advising sessions are as un helpful as possible. This is my second advisor in 2 semesters, as my last advisor cut short a 15 minute meeting in which I had to drive 25 miles to come to (I live off campus). My new advisor had this sentence roughly 20 seconds into our first conversation .....

"There is no way I can assist you with any of these things".

Sorry for the rant... but there are reasons that private institutions cost more, and it's not because they are ripping you off. I feel like Im getting ripped off by this dump of a school.

Edit:

This is not directed at those of you who went to Michigan State, Penn State, etc, nor any of should you take it personally. Just a rant.

daryn
01-20-2005, 04:11 PM