PDA

View Full Version : Printing on felt

kodonnell
01-17-2005, 03:30 PM
I want to put a picture (solid colors) on the felt of my table. I have thought about drawing it on with paint pens, airbrush, or some printing technique. Has anyone done this? What works, what doesn't?

Thanks in advance,
Kevin

SDA004
01-17-2005, 04:25 PM
I'd think the only thing that would work would be silk screen. I could be wrong though.

Slow Play Ray
01-17-2005, 04:28 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'd think the only thing that would work would be silk screen. I could be wrong though.

[/ QUOTE ]

I saw something somewhere where you could iron-on a design onto the felt, but I can't remember where at the moment. I'll post it if I run across it again.

PinataUT
01-17-2005, 04:50 PM
I have no experience with the product or vendor.
http://printonit.zoovy.com/category/transferpapers.opaque

TwinTowers
01-17-2005, 05:08 PM
Pens would actually work well if your "felt" is a lighter color. Ive seen a table the guy traced a pair of cards in permanent pen on all four corners of the table. Worked great, but the "felt" was blue and it didnt stand out very well.

Air brush is the most effective and is more common. You can do your own with a basic stencil, or take the material to an artist (usually between 50-100 bucks).

And finally iron on transferrs have had good results, but so far they havent been put through the test of time. The fear is having the transfer beging to peel.

If you want something basic on a light color felt, try the marker route. If you want a logo or design, I would go with air-brush.

This very question comes up a lot at a table building forum I frequent.

gmunny
01-17-2005, 07:01 PM
You may want to check this poker table forum out. They have discussed this and also have pics of members tables.
scott keen poker table forum (http://www.scottkeen.com/forum/)
G$

rusellmj
01-17-2005, 10:18 PM