PDA

View Full Version : Omaha Books

PJS
01-16-2005, 10:52 PM
I am fairly new to Omaha, and there is considerably less books to choose from than Hold'em. Any advice on a range of books worth buying.

Also, anyone read "Gambling for a Living" by Sklansky and Malmuth? If so, what did you think and would you recommend it?

BlueBear
01-17-2005, 04:33 AM
I find "The Science of Poker" a helpful read. It approaches omaha from a heavy probabilist (pot-oddish) and mathematical point of view and advocates a very tight style. There are other books too, but their names escape me for this moment.

npc
01-18-2005, 12:45 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I am fairly new to Omaha, and there is considerably less books to choose from than Hold'em. Any advice on a range of books worth buying.

[/ QUOTE ]

I think Ray Zee's book is excellent. It is must reading at least at some point. I wish I could recommend a really good first book on Omaha8, but I don't think I've read such a thing. I think Tenner and Krieger's book is pretty decent, and I like Boston's book as a reference, but it isn't an appropriate primary book.

[ QUOTE ]
Also, anyone read "Gambling for a Living" by Sklansky and Malmuth? If so, what did you think and would you recommend it?

[/ QUOTE ]

I found it worth reading but I don't think it was either's best work. A full review is here:
http://www.jetcafe.org/~npc/reviews/gambling/gambling_for_a_living.html

IronDragon1
01-18-2005, 02:17 AM
NOTE: My discussion is taken in the context that you are asking for recommendations for books on straight omaha high. If you mean 8/b as well I would wholeheartdly recommend Ray Zee's book

On this (and the omaha) forum people seem inclined to:
-"Omaha Hold'Em Poker" by Bob Ciaffone
-"How good is your Pot-Limit Omaha?" by Stuart Reuben
-"Pot-Limit and No-Limit Poker" by Reuben and Ciaffone