PDA

View Full Version : 33 Person Multi Final Table Mistake?

SyphonTheirCash
01-15-2005, 10:10 PM
Hey everyone,
This is my first attempt at posting a situation so I hope I do it well enough. Ty in advance for any feedback. This situation just happened to me recently. I orginally thought I made the correct play, but the more I think about it.... So i'm in a $100 33-person multi table tournament top 4 getting paid. Starting stack is 1500 making the average stack at the time about 7071. The blinds are 500/1000 increasing in less than 5 minutes to 1000/2000(No Antes). With 7 left i'm sitting on the BB with 4,100. The other stacks are one at 1,000; 4 at about 10,000; bigstack on the SB with about 3 times the next biggest stack. It folds around to the SB who raises it to 3,000. The SB player is a maniac player. He will raise everyhand no matter what it is if the pot has not been raised yet. He raises 72o the same as AA. I've had a pretty good read on him regardless the whole night and doubled off him twice. The rest of the players on the table are quite solid and probably wouldn't do anything stupid prior to me being blinded out or getting a bigger stack. The way he bet it and acted I put him on medium cards 8-Q no pair. I look down at my hand and see A /images/graemlins/spade.gif8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif. I think it is a great example of a decision with a marginal hand , something that is crucial when you are in tournament play. What would you do in this situation?

Dawdy
01-15-2005, 10:34 PM
You have 4 BB left at most and you are 2 bottom chipped with 6k between u and the person above you which is more than double your chip stack.
I think A8 is a good enough hand to protect you BB from a SB steal. You need the chips at this point. Even if it isnt a steal you will soon be in a position where everyone will see your chips as a cheap call.