PDA

View Full Version : Live 20/40

DiceyPlay
01-15-2005, 10:05 PM
This is my first time playing at this level. It was a good mix of players - about 4 pretty solid and 4 weakies and me (somewhere in between).

I raise UTG with AhKh. A weak player calls in UTG+2. The small blind, another weak player, calls. The big blind, a semi-solid who likes to call down even on scary boards calls.

The flop is 7c7dAd. It's checked to me and I bet. UTG+2 folds. SB check-raises. BB folds.

At this point I'm thinking he likely has a 7 because he's really weak. But if he does why wouldn't he wait until the turn to raise? May be he's scared of the flush board, but I raised btf. May be he thinks if I flopeed Aces full, I'll let him know right then and there.

Nope none of that makes sense. He's got a 7 - he's weak and he doesn't know how to play it for max value. I should fold, but hey I've got outs. And just maybe he has AT, AJ, or AQ. I call.

Turn is a blank - I call his bet.

River is a blank - I call his bet.

He shows 97o.

Did I play that right, wtong, close?

What a lousy session, down 22 big bets ACK!

All comments appreciated.

-DP

DiceyPlay
01-16-2005, 05:41 PM
My real question here is should I have folded and saved 2.5 big bets knowing that my opponent very likely has a 7 or was it worth it to call having 2 outs and the possibility that I might have him beat?

I don't think I have to worry about people taking shots at me had I folded. The solids know what's up and know I'll call them. The weakies either don't care or are easy to read - I'll call them.

Thanks,

-DP

James282
01-16-2005, 06:03 PM
Unless he's super weak, predictable, and you've seen him show down lots of hands you need to get to the river. Not much you can do.
-James

random@cash
01-16-2005, 07:02 PM