PDA

View Full Version : Colts @ Pats (what makes this game a bad bet?)

slogger
01-14-2005, 05:02 PM
Hey guys, this is my first post in the SB forum. Huge sports fan, facinated with sports betting, but have never gotten into because I think I would enjoy it too much and go overboard with it.

Anyway, despite rarely putting money on a game outside of stupid Super Bowl bets with friends and the NCAA tourney, I enjoy reading about and discussing point spreads, moneylines, etc. I remain a complete novice though.

For what it's worth, if I had to bet every game this week, I take the favorites in every single one (not sure about the value of playing the money line or laying the points on each game).

It seems to me that everyone's facination with the Colts is even further reason to think that the Pats are a good bet this week. However, I've a number of you say things like "the smart money will stay away from this game."

I have two questions:
1. What characteristics make a game one that the "smart money" would avoid?
2. Which of these apply to the Colts-Pats game?

Thanks for the input!

ttleistdci
01-14-2005, 05:10 PM
"Smart money" is probably staying away from this game because it really could go either way...there is no edge here.

Both teams looked really good all year, and they both have some things working against them (Colts - streak vs. Pats at home, weather, etc.) (Pats - injury-depleted defense).

I think others here would agree with me that this game might be one of the best this year, and as a Pats' fan, I would much rather sit back and enjoy the game rather than worry about Troy Brown costing me a Pats' cover because he was playing too loose on defense.

sublime
01-14-2005, 05:16 PM
"Smart money" is probably staying away from this game because it really could go either way...there is no edge here.