PDA

View Full Version : Kings On Ace High Board

theBruiser500
01-13-2005, 03:31 PM
15/30 on PP, 6 handed, some guy limps in EP I raise in MP with red KK he calls. HU, flop is Ac 8c 3h. He checks, I'm new to limit but checking seems to have a lot of merit here, however my limit playing friend Daryn says I have to bet. But checking I might induce a bluff from him, if he has a flush draw he might have check/raised the flop and I'd have to fold but now I will get to a showdown vs. his flush draw. If he has two high cards like QJ or whatever he might pair up. I don't think a free card really hurts me here. What am I missing?

LarsVegas
01-13-2005, 05:52 PM
You aren't really missing much. I think checking here is a damn fine play.

I recently made a similar play at $20/40 at another site. The flop was A-7-x (rainbow I think) against the big blind. Check-check. Turn 7. Check-bet-checkraise. I had some reads on this player that made me call down with some ease.

River was another easing 7. My opponent had some hopeless crapola, no draw, perhaps one overcard to my pair (I actually think it was QQ), but nevertheless. I got a great play I never would have had I bet the flop.

And you lose a lot less if you want a showdown those times you are beat.

Great play (particularly with KK compared to QQ/JJ).

lars

astroglide
01-13-2005, 07:07 PM
2 clubs on the flop, no club in your hand. checking them specifically into a retarded flush draw can be annoying, especially if they are tricky (sniff weakness and checkraise the turn with it instead of betting). for me holding the king of clubs this is an easy check, not holding the king of clubs it's an easy bet.

LuckYou777
01-13-2005, 07:11 PM
yeah, i like checking there. its been a pretty winning play for me, especially in situations like Lars descibed. i been taking alot of abuse for my check there, so, needless to say... this is going in my favorite threads list.

best of "luck".