PDA

View Full Version : Advice on 2 Bubble Hand Histories please

stevetee
01-12-2005, 03:00 PM
Hi, I've been playing for about 9 months now and still learning to balance aggression vs timid play. I'd value others input on these 2 hand histories that were almost back to back from last night, and that saw me exit in 4th place on both occasions in party $30 sit'n'gos. I'm quite sure the 2nd one was bad play by me.
Thanks
Steve

(Histories edited to protect the guilty !)

NL Hold'em $30 Buy-in + $3 Entry Fee
(Real Money)
Seat 9 is the button
Total number of players : 4
Seat 4: ME ( $1050 )
Seat 8: opp1 ( $485 )
Seat 9: opp2 ( $4965 )
Seat 3: opp3 ( $1500 )
Blinds(100/200)
** Dealing down cards **
Dealt to ME [ Js As ]
ME is all-In [1050]
opp1 folds.
opp2 calls [1050].
opp3 folds.
** Dealing Flop ** [ Qc, 8s, 4c ]
** Dealing Turn ** [ 3d ]
** Dealing River ** [ Ah ]
ME shows [ Js, As ] a pair of aces.
opp2 shows [ Kc, Ad ] a pair of aces.
ME finished in fourth place.
opp2 wins 2300 chips from the main pot with a pair of aces with king kicker.

(Real Money)
Seat 1 is the button
Seat 1: opp1 ( $712 )
Seat 9: opp2 ( $4598 )
Seat 10: ME ( $1706 )
Seat 8: opp3 ( $984 )
Blinds(100/200)
** Dealing down cards **
Dealt to ME [ 8c 8h ]
ME is all-In [1706]
opp1 folds.
opp3 folds.
opp2 calls [1506].
** Dealing Flop ** [ Kc, 3s, 6d ]
** Dealing Turn ** [ Jc ]
** Dealing River ** [ Qs ]
ME shows [ 8c, 8h ] a pair of eights.
opp2 shows [ Ad, Qh ] a pair of queens.
ME finished in fourth place.
opp2 wins 3512 chips from the main pot with a pair of queens.

K C
01-12-2005, 03:12 PM
Hand 1: Do you really want to go all in here? Put yourself in the shoes of the guy with $400. He's happier than hell to see this, and now he gets paid instead of you. You need to be more careful in early position with your all-ins. You can end up against a bigger stack like this, he could have a better PF hand, or call you and get lucky and put you out that way.