PDA

View Full Version : Playing against newer players

mreinecker
01-09-2005, 09:02 PM
My friends and I get together several times a week to play poker at my house, or at one of their houses. I'm no expert on poker but I do understand concepts in poker and I thought I also had a pretty good strategy. But then I realized that any strategy I tried at the table wouldn't work. There's only one other good player who I play with, and the rest of them don't really know what they're doing. They play almost every hand, call preflop raises with bad cards, and don't know when to throw hands in. This brings the amount of luck in the game up to a very high level, and brings down the level of skill a great deal. What can I do agaisnt players like this ? Is the only way to beat them to wait for my cards and play them like I should ? I've realized bluffing doesn't work well with them either. If you have any advice, let me know. Thanks.

obeythekitten
01-09-2005, 09:06 PM
raise the buyin.

if they dont care about pissing away $5, see if they play more conservatively if they are risking $10.

besides the basic "be extremely selective with starting hands" advice, realize that fancy play isnt going to win (check raises and bluffing straights will be meaningless), just simply playing solid will be enough if you have patience.

however, if you are only playing 3 or 4 handed, throwing away almost every hand will make the game boring for them, obviously it creates a dilemma.

TwinTowers
01-10-2005, 03:17 AM
Ive had this similar "fortunate" situation happen last year. Many new/bad players came to our normal tourney. I had a cross eyed newbie call me all the way to the river with 33 with KKA on the board. I had KQ, but he was in LOVE /images/graemlins/heart.gif with his hand and caught his 3 on the river.

I felt like you do now; what do I do? But if we are "good" players, and they are "bad" players, we will eventually beat them.