PDA

View Full Version : Am I good, bad or lucky?

mmillar
01-07-2005, 06:26 AM
I got a tight/aggressive strategy off the Internet, which I started playing at the beginning of December.

Since then I've played about 100 STT ('single table tournament' or 'sit and go') games and am coming in the money (1st, 2nd or 3rd) about half the time. No-limit, between $5-$25 entry fee.

I know 100 games isn't a lot so just wanted to know if this is reasonable? Or am I just on a wild lucky streak?

Thanks

Bigwig
01-07-2005, 06:31 AM
50% ITM at those levels is doable.

pottie
01-07-2005, 06:35 AM
Im still a beginner, so cant really answer your q...

Would appreciate if you could provide a link to the strategy yor are playing.

Thx

mmillar
01-07-2005, 03:19 PM
I guess the consensus is I'm just being lucky. /images/graemlins/frown.gif Oh well.

I'll keep playing and let you know when I get to 200.

Cheers

mcpherzen
01-07-2005, 05:01 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I guess the consensus is I'm just being lucky. /images/graemlins/frown.gif Oh well.

[/ QUOTE ]

It's not quite that simple. My input would be that, yes, you are on a bit of a hot streak and your numbers are probably unsustainable in the long run. But that doesn't mean the entirety of it is luck by a long shot. In other words, I'd really doubt you finish down over the next 100 tournaments, but I'd also doubt your ITM and ROI results are as good in the next 100 sngs as in the first 100 you've played.

In my opinion, the only stat that really matters is ITM%. Can you finish in the money or not, and what percentage of time? Over lots and lots of tourneys, the distribution of 1sts, 2nds, and 3rds will should really even out if you play correctly strategically until the bubble and you understand heads up play. In my opinion, the blinds are just so high once you get to heads-up play that finishing first, say, twice as frequently, as you finish 2nd is just not possible over the long run.