PDA

View Full Version : 88 early

tiltaholic
01-06-2005, 11:50 AM
Hi
I'm a relative newb to sngs...how would you play this hand? Everyone so far has been playing far too many hands, as usual, but I have no real reads yet. This is the first playable hand I've gotten so far...

Party 20+2, level 2 (15/30), 8 players remaining

me (730)
MP (710)
button (705)
SB (460)
BB (665)

I'm UTG with 8 /images/graemlins/spade.gif8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif
I limp (?), folded to MP who limps, folded to button who raises to 100, SB calls, BB folds...I call(?)

FLOP (3 players) 2 /images/graemlins/heart.gif2 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

SB checks, I check(?), Button raises all- in (605), SB calls, I fold.

I think the fold on the flop is correct given how I played until then, but I think all 3 of my prior decisions may be wrong.

Thanks in advance
-t

PhiGamTN
01-06-2005, 12:08 PM
now some may call me weak tight but i have a nice roi on 5+.50 sng's on pacific. Before the blinds hit 25-50 (and sometimes well into this level) i basically only raise AA-QQ AKo AKs i will limp with AQ-AJ suited or offsuit in lp (maybe mp depends on reads) and i limp with any pp 22--jj which i play for set value (of course only if it's a somewhat passive table other wise i tighten up to 7's or better) i will also call a mini raise with pocket pairs because sets are so powerful.

Given this I would play the hadn exactly as you did. There is some consideration because you only have 5 players left but still i don't want to be playing a big pot out of position with 88 when the blinds are miniscule compared to my stack.

Better players can go ahead and rip into my weak tight self

EDIT: ok i'm dumb you only posted stacks of those who mattered. considering there's 8 players left i play the hand exactly as you do again although i'm a little more inclined to fold to the raise with mp still to act behind me.

El Maximo
01-06-2005, 12:12 PM