PDA

View Full Version : Weight Training

Tron
01-05-2005, 10:27 PM
So I'm sitting around and I realize that I'm way too skinny. Running backs my size (5'8") usually weigh about 200 pounds. I weigh 140. I figure 160 wouldn't be too unreasonable for me.

Well, naturally, this means I need to start lifting, but the problem is that I haven't done that since I wrestled my freshman year of HS. Now I'm a freshman in college. Basically I just want to get bigger, build strength, and develop explosive speed.

Any pointers or whatever for helping me reach my goals would be real, real sweet. Thanks a lot.

BeerMoney
01-05-2005, 10:55 PM
Hit the big muscles.. Chest, back and legs. Lots of bench pressing. Push ups. Do some legs. They get the rest of the body going cause they are such a big muscle group. For back I recommend pull ups and pull downs.

Good luck. Oh yeah, egg whites. I never took a single supplement, and I got pretty strong with out them.

bosoxfan
01-05-2005, 11:00 PM
Try and get Sup Bro to train you.

Malone Brown
01-05-2005, 11:03 PM
[ QUOTE ]

Hit the big muscles.. Chest, back and legs. Lots of bench pressing. Push ups. Do some legs. They get the rest of the body going cause they are such a big muscle group. For back I recommend pull ups and pull downs.

Good luck. Oh yeah, egg whites. I never took a single supplement, and I got pretty strong with out them.

[/ QUOTE ]

This is good starting advice but it takes much more than that for most people. I am a certified personal trainer, if you are serious about this and want more detailed advice you can PM and I'll be glad to help.
Malone

BeerMoney
01-05-2005, 11:04 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Try and get Sup Bro to train you.

[/ QUOTE ]

This is probably the best advice anyone has ever given on this forum.

ftball0000
01-06-2005, 12:08 AM
Someone on here, I think INSChris gave me this website, it seems good to me. http://www.musclezone.co.uk/index.php

-Ftball

nothumb
01-06-2005, 12:15 AM