View Full Version : SSH, SSHE?

gasoltub
01-04-2005, 10:17 AM
I'm very new to poker and I keep seeing references to SSH and SSHE. Is that two different books or the same? And whats the full title and author? Would it be a good book to read when starting? Otherwise could someone perhaps point me in the direction of some good books?

thanks

Twitch1977
01-04-2005, 10:28 AM
Hello,

SSHE/SSH is one book, just different abreviations:

http://www.twoplustwo.com/books.html#Small%20Stakes%20Hold'em

This is the definitive book on playing small stakes, loose game, low-limit hold'em. It is an excellent book. Whether or not it is appropriate for you depends on how much you have played, I would personally want a few thousand hands of actual play under my belt before reading this book, this book assumes you know the rules of the game and are familiar with a few of the key concepts, (although it does a good job of going over most of them.)

If you are just starting out I would recommend reading Internet Texas Hold'em by Mathew Hilger, get a few thousand hands of play in then tackle this book and keep going over it until you know it inside out and backwards (this is the step I am still on /images/graemlins/wink.gif ).

Anyways hope this helps. In the end you can never go wrong with a 2+2 book, but if I was starting out again I think I would want to read Hilger's book first.

T

gasoltub
01-04-2005, 10:53 AM
Ah, that's the book. I actually already got that one. I'll probably check out that Hilger book too. I haven't played much yet so a book that covers the game on a level between complete novice and intermediate would be good a assume.

thanks
/gasoltub

PE101
01-04-2005, 11:00 AM
Congratulations on finding these forums as a beginner!
They will make you a much better player.

Actually, I don't know what I'd recommend to a true beginner.

2+2 books are terrific, but one of the things I like best about them is that they are relatively advanced.