PDA

View Full Version : help with AK

squallA964
01-03-2005, 08:42 PM
I need serious help with how to play AK. It seems like no matter what I do, I can never win with it. I bust out of more tourneys and lose more chips with this hand than anything. It doesnt matter if I raise huge, go All in, or whatever...it simply never (*&^%$& wins. If I'm short stacked and push it all in, I get called by A-rag and lose everytime. Most of the time an A or K doesnt even flop...if my math is right, one of them should flop about 30-35% of the time or so....but they never do. In race situations, I should be winning 43% of the time. Ive been keeping track for 2 months now....I'm winning 18%. The percentages were similar before I started keeping track. And, if by a miracle I do flop an A or K, someone hits an amazing runner-runner flush or straight.

I do want to emphasize I don't play it recklessly or anything. I'm not calling down or pushing it in when it's obvious it should be folded. 99% of the time, when I push it, I have the best hand. It's AFTER I push it that everything changes. Either pre-flop when Im shortstacked, or postflop when its the best hand (before it gets destroyed on the turn or river, usually when me or my opponent is already all in. It's just ALWAYS getting sucked out on. I've been keeping track for two months, but I've been playing online since June and it's been the case ever since I started playing. I'm not gonna lie and say I havent won with it, but the victories are so few and far between as to be negligible. And when I lose, it's always the difference between money and no money, or 9th and the Top 3. I can't win the key hands with it, the hands that make a difference between winning a tourney and finishing 10th.