PDA

View Full Version : Now What Next...

WalkAmongUs
01-03-2005, 10:52 AM
This is my first time post after reading these forums and attempting to play serious poker for the past 3 months. I mainly play .5/1 limit on empire. I have read about 15 books on poker so far...mostly 2+2 books. My first question is I have blown through about $500 so far in 3 months. Granted, when I first began I did not play well at all. Slowly I became better. Lately I have been trying to tune up my pre-flop play as I think this was a leak in my game. I followed the pre-flop charts in SSH (I've read it through twice now) religiously but managed to lose 100 BB. I am now re reading Hold Em Poker. I know there isn't TOO much variation between Hold Em Poker and SSH other than SSH includes adjustment for loose play. I was wondering what differences there would be in following Hold Em Poker versus SSH. Also, what recommendations does anyone have for moving up. I began following SSH preflop charts religiously and I was almost always ahead on the flop only to lose on the turn or river (to things like 8,10 offsuit and the like). I don't have poker tracker but I do use Stat King. Any comments?

firedawg
01-03-2005, 11:08 AM
I think a general consensus is Party's .5/1 is much looser than anywhere in the world, even though empire is a party skin. I'd say switch to Party. Stick with SSH, (the bible) and keep plugging, you cannot lose if you follow the chart, don't hang on to your hands too long. Post some of your Statking stats on here for review that will help as well.

davelin
01-03-2005, 11:26 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I think a general consensus is Party's .5/1 is much looser than anywhere in the world, even though empire is a party skin. I'd say switch to Party. Stick with SSH, (the bible) and keep plugging, you cannot lose if you follow the chart, don't hang on to your hands too long. Post some of your Statking stats on here for review that will help as well.

[/ QUOTE ]