PDA

View Full Version : Hand advice

TheBob
01-02-2005, 03:32 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to Omaha and just played a hand that I'd like your advice on. We're 6 handed in a low limit omaha cash game, I'm dealt king jack 10 8 four different suits and I see the flop for real cheap. The flop comes king jack 7 rainbow. First guy checks, second guy makes a small bet, I triple it, fourth guy calls and then it's back to the first guy who makes a big raise. The initial bettor quickly folds and it's back to me with another person behind me. At this point I'm pretty sure that the guy in first position has the same two pair as me with the outside chance that he has trip 7's, the guy behind me probably had nothing but a weak draw as he likes to chase. I decided to move all in. The guy behind me folds and the guy who put in the big raise calls and turns over king jack queen 5 giving him the same hand but with a runner runner flush draw and 3 outs for his queens. He ends up hitting the runner runner flush and I lose my money. Did I do anything wrong here or is this an automatic call? Thanks a lot for your advice.

commodore64
01-02-2005, 04:54 AM
you need to think this one through yourself to help yourself. i dont want to sound condescending, so i mean no harm in criticizing you, but you butchered this hand from the start IMO.
Start with hand selection. I realize you got in cheap and you are 6 handed, but that hand is garbage. you have nothing suited no connectors just 4 random cards which you justified playing because they are above 8 i guess. Muck this hand preflop. what do you want to hit with this hand?