PDA

View Full Version : an actual poker discussion

10-26-2001, 12:21 PM
I started playing online a year or so ago. When I first began playing I was willing to push my top pair all the way to the river and found that most folks would dump their hand to my river bet. I would only play top pair good kicker this aggressively. This worked out well for about three weeks, then all of the sudden I was facing check raises on the river. I would look at my big pair or two pair and know that I was toast. Now my aggreession has turned to paranoia. Any loud noise sends me scampering, tail tucked firmly between my legs, under the table. Over and over again, at limits up to 3-6, I would go to the river with AA unimproved, jamming preflop and post flop, only to be shown a freak straight or flush or two weak ass pair. I'm turning into a poker pussy, I'm afraid. I'm also afraid that my live game has suffered irreparable harm at the hands of my online game. Yeah, I've played poorly, clicking that damned call button when I knew I should fold. I suffer a few bad beats and my losses get compounded by poor play. I'm considering cashing out what's left of my buy in and deleting PP from my hard drive. I kicked ass at the live games I played in because I didn't chase with 2 outers and made people pay to play against my best hands. Now I watch as hand after hand I'm run down my absolute morons. Each time I'm dealt kings, an ace flops. The third flush card always seems to come on the river, and the nice pot all of my bets and raises built goes to some dimwit who conviced himself to call two cold with 8-3 of spades. Is there any strategy to combat this? I'm getting ready to throw in the towel and go back to live games and smoke and tipping and more expensive rakes. Do I sound bitter?

10-26-2001, 01:12 PM
It sounds like you may need a break. It may be best if you quit, but I doubt that is really the best answer.