PDA

View Full Version : Bad read, bad play ... both?

bts
12-31-2004, 01:53 AM
FYI, it was a SNG single table. Up until this play, I was extremely tight ... though this isn't a factor in the hand below.

It's tough for me to analyze this, considering I'm a relative newbie.

TIA for any insight.

***** Hand History for Game *****
50/100 TourneyTexasHTGameTable (NL)
(Real Money) -- Seat 5 is the button
Total number of players : 4
Seat 1: hero (1485)
Seat 5: x (3865)
Seat 6: y (1260)
Seat 7: antihero (1390)
y posts small blind (25)
antihero posts big blind (50)
** Dealing down cards **
Dealt to hero [ 6d, 6c ]
hero calls (50)
x folds.
y calls (25)
antihero raises (150) to 200
hero calls (150)
y folds.
** Dealing Flop ** : [ 8c, Td, Th ]
antihero checks.
hero bets (300)
antihero calls (300)
** Dealing Turn ** : [ Tc ]
antihero checks.
hero bets (985)
hero is all-In.
antihero calls (890)
antihero is all-In.
** Dealing River ** : [ Jc ]
Creating Main Pot with $2830 with antihero
Creating Side Pot 1 with $95 with hero
** Summary **
Main Pot: 2830 | Side Pot 1: 95
Board: [ 8c Td Th Tc Jc ]
hero balance 95, bet 1485, collected 95, lost -1390 [ 6d 6c ] [ a full house, Tens full of sixes -- Td,Th,Tc,6d,6c ]
x balance 3865, didn't bet (folded)
y balance 1210, lost 50 (folded)
antihero balance 2830, bet 1390, collected 2830, net +1440 [ Js Ts ] [ four of a kind, tens -- Js,Ts,Td,Th,Tc ]

K C
12-31-2004, 04:20 PM
Since no one has replied yet, I'll take a shot at this for you /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Being first to act in this situation, it's probably best to throw this hand away right at the outset. That's because you really don't want to be calling any kind of real raise - anything beyond 2x the blind. Generally. you're not going to get the correct odds here. Especially in a tournament, you want to be careful with how you spend your chips.