PDA

View Full Version : Self analysis on a steal hand, 2+2 advice much appreciated.

jacks321
12-31-2004, 12:50 AM
Looking back at this hand, I can see I played it quite badly. But as I am still fairly new to MTT's, I thought I would post it anyway, add my own input as to how it could have been better played and get other 2+2ers input to see if I'm on the right track. I've been mulling over this hand today and trying to come up with some better solutions.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t4000 (9 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

SB (t32078)
BB (t154179)
UTG (t38438)
UTG+1 (t114338)
MP1 (t29690)
MP2 (t100219)
MP3 (t36309)
CO (t39591)
Hero (t91253)

Preflop: Hero is Button with J/images/graemlins/spade.gif, T/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.
UTG folds, UTG+1 calls t4000, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, MP3 folds, CO folds, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t10000</font>, SB folds, BB folds, UTG+1 calls t6000.

I'm on a steal here, and 10000 is too weak a bet to expect to steal. A better bet would have been around 15,000, right?

Flop: (t21600) J/images/graemlins/club.gif, 5/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, A/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 bets t8000</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t20000</font>, UTG+1 calls t12000.

I think Villain has a weak ace here and is testing me so I fire off a good size bet to try to push him off his hand. He probably calls sensing weakness from my PFR. At this point, I should probably fold to a turn bet. Should I have reraised him here or simply folded?

Turn: (t61600) 8/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG+1 bets t8000</font>, Hero calls t8000.

It's a small bet in a huge pot. Is he trying to trap me with something big? I'm lost on this street.

River: (t77600) 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>