PDA

View Full Version : I don't understand value betting!!!

crusader41
12-30-2004, 03:00 AM
I'm fairly new to poker, and I keep hearing the terms, "value betting" or "bet for value" I've tried doing a search to find out what this means, but couldn't find anything. If anyone could explain it to me, I would appreciate it.
Joey

laja
12-30-2004, 03:07 AM
There are many reasons for betting that all can earn you money in the long run and most bets/raised have a couple of the reasons in mind. Some preflop raises are to buy better position, some to limit the number of players in the hand when you have a hand that is good versus a few players (a/k, 9/9). Value bets are bets you are making because you believe you have the best hand and are willing to put up X amount of your $ for their $. However, often times in poker you are unsure if you have the best hand, you might have a 60% chance of having the best hand, and that would be considered a thin value bet because if you have a 50% chance of having the best hand the bet is irrelevent, 1/2 of the time you will win an extra bet and 1/2 of the time you will lose that bet. Now this is an oversimplification but illustrates the point. The reason you make value bets is because you believe you have the best hand, the worse the player is the more value bets you can make because they are calling stations. Versus a "maniac" you might be betting/raising ace high because you believe you are better off.

Kurn, son of Mogh
12-30-2004, 08:56 AM
A value bet is a bet you want called because you believe that your hand will be good often enough to justify putting in that additional bet.

binions
12-30-2004, 02:59 PM
In holdem, value betting is making a bet (or raise) on the flop or thereafter with a hand you think has a chance to be best (ie a hand that has value).

Against some players, this can be Ace high. Against others, middle pair. Against others, top pair top kicker vs a 2 flush board, etc.

Any hand you think might be in the lead.