PDA

View Full Version : when is it correct to call an allin on a draw?

DrewOnTilt
12-29-2004, 02:06 AM
Several times recently I have flopped a draw to the nuts only to have another player either go allin or put me allin. Other than correct pot odds, what factors need to be present in order to justify a call?

I would like to know this in terms of players left, stack sizes, my relative stack position, et cetera.

comguy321
12-29-2004, 07:55 AM
Hi,
I'm new at this, and so I might be wrong, but here it goes anyway. I'm thinking of one situation where this might be a good call. If there's a cronic all-in raiser in front of you, and you're about to be blinded out anyway, you might call, because you could hit your flush, and because you could win with just your ace.

Steve.

syka16
12-29-2004, 11:09 AM
First off. You shouldn't be calling all ins on a draw very often. but a common time is when you're very short stacked in the BB with XXs and a bunch of limpers and the flop contains 2 suited (pot's 3:1).

Another time is on the bubble. You're a big stack and try a steal LP with Axs or Kxs against a lower/mid stack and he does a stop and go. You've got 9 outs to the nuts and usually 3 for an over card so sometimes you're getting better than 3:1 to call.

It's usually only correct to call when you're short stacked or chip leader (unless you're getting 8:1 or something like that). With a mid stack, sometimes you get a good opportunity to call but not usually so don't worry about it too much.

betgo
12-29-2004, 02:10 PM
You have to look at pot odds, how strong the draw is, and how strong you think your opponent's hand is.

If the draw is strong enough, it is an easy call. Say the flop is 8s7sQd. If have Ts9s, AsKs, or KsQs, I would probably call a push.

Scuba Chuck
12-29-2004, 02:53 PM
Focusing only on the CALL of an allin with a draw.

I’m bored, and I am probably getting to be too arrogant in my poker play lately, so I could use some criticism. This is going to be long…