PDA

View Full Version : Improving one's game in Hold 'Em

coolhanded
12-28-2004, 11:26 AM
RE: the topic of improving one's game, I'd appreciate some feedback on my situation.

I've been playing limit hold 'em online seriously on PartyPoker since September of this year. Not a long time, but I don't think I'm a beginner either. Before putting any money down, I read Sklansky's "Theory of Poker", "Hold 'Em Poker" (100-page book on the basics), and most of "Hold 'Em Poker for Advanced Players". I've logged a few hundered hours and basically have tried to approach the game in textbook fashion (tight aggressive). I started with $200 bankroll on $.50/$1. Made a little and felt I could move to $1/$2 and did. Made $500 one weekend and started dreaming of my hourly rate and how I might could make this a second job. My account peaked at $650 in pure playing profits. Moved to $2/$4 about 6 weeks ago. My account is now worth the $200 I started with.

I would say the 2 areas of my game I feel most uncomfortable about are (1) reading hands, and (2) varying my game with bluffs. My feeling is (1) is simply hard to do, even for very good players, and I can often call hole cards, but miss enough to make me wonder. (2) basically seems like a negative expectancy play in small stakes online limit hold 'em----really hard to bluff people out. Besides that, I feel like I know what I'm doing----what starting hands to play, attention to position, when to raise, call, fold, semi-bluff, etc. I understand the math of the game.

So why is my account back to where I started? Normal volatility? Given the amount I've played, I can't believe that. If you graphed my daily closing account values like a stock chart, there is no uptrend. I think I'm an intelligent guy and have done my homework on poker enough that I feel like I understand what's going on, but the playing profits just aren't there. Very frustrating! Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

nuclear500
12-28-2004, 11:33 AM