PDA

View Full Version : European Sites?

09-27-2001, 10:08 AM
I've been playing at Paradise for about three months and UB for a week or so. And although I haven't cashed out at either site yet it worries me to hear scare stories of players having trouble with checks and extra charges outside of the US (From PayPal/Firepay as well as direct from the site)

Do any other Europeans have any comments about this.

Also does anyone know of any poker sites based in Europe?

ps This is my first post, please be gentle

09-27-2001, 12:17 PM
CCCPoker seem to be located in Austria.

09-27-2001, 01:56 PM
I think that it is unlikely that a site will open and be successful using Euros as the playing currency. The biggest population of online players are US based so they won't want to be paid in Euros - doing anything that would discourage this population would mean death to any poker room.

The recent problems with credit cards have created a problem for non dollar players. I used to cash out to the credit card and because the original transaction was being cancelled there were no currency charges or fluctuations. Checks were profit, so I didn't mind paying charges on currency conversion. Now all cash outs are dollars.

I have opened a US$ account and intend to cash out to that via PayPal. I can use the account when I visit the US.

It is an unfortunate fact of life that there will always be a charge to convert dollars into a local currency, the trick is to do it as seldom as possible to avoid a huge rake.

09-27-2001, 02:17 PM
"ps This is my first post, please be gentle"