PDA

View Full Version : A Couple of "Re-Beginner" Questions

MasterShakes
12-23-2004, 01:29 AM
I am a somewhat experienced ring-game hold 'em player in both the limit and no-limit variations of the game. I am trying to diversify a bit and start playing some tournaments. I have likely played at least a few hundred SNGs since I started playing seriously, but I never really studied these very much.

I just recently picked up the Harrington book and plan to read it cover to cover. I also have the Sklansky book, but haven't read it as extensively. I also don't read this forum too much.

I plan to start at the 10+1 level (for which I am more than adequately bankrolled at $600 or so) and eventually build my way up to 50+5, while working in some satellite and multi-table play as well (it's a personal goal to play in both the PPM and the WSOP within the next two years). Of course, I want the great winrates that I read about on here all the time, but I also want to know what course of action will best lead me to those winrates.

And yes, this will all likely be done on Party, though I do plan to venture onto Stars some time in 2005.

Anyway... on to my questions:

1) I really want to learn by both studying and doing, so would it be recommended that I really swamp myself with material... reading and re-reading Sklansky and Harrington, as well as all of the posts on the forum?

2)For those who have read well into Harrington's book, how much of it is applicable to SNGs?

3) I am extremely comfortable with multi-tabling the ring games. Would multi-tabling (3 tables at a time) the 10+1 SNGs right off the bat be a bad idea?

4) How long does it take, on average, to play one SNG on Party?

5) Who are the most reliable posters in the forum (I plan to read it cover the cover and participate when I feel like I can contribute something meaningful)?

Cheers and Happy Holidays,
MasterShakes

daboze
12-23-2004, 02:18 AM