PDA

View Full Version : Profitability of online Stud, Stud/8

partygirluk
12-21-2004, 05:37 PM
I am guessing that it worse than Hold 'Em, as game selection is more limited. However, are there plenty of fish in the middle and higher limits? What is a decent rate in BB/Hr etc. I am just getting into Stud so I don't know anything about this.

Apologies if this has been posted before, please give me a link.

Thanks in advance.

hurlyburly
12-22-2004, 12:52 PM
It's real fishy at Party, and it's a great break from holdem. I reccommend adding it to your favorites and hopping in whenever you can. Much less variance than HE.

The hourly rate on stars for the non-Turbo SNGs is horrible even if you pull down firsts (they last easily 1.5 hours with only a $68 profit for 1st for a 20+2). They are great for learning hand values and practicing strategy, though, since you get to see so many hands. Once you get your game down, the 15+1 turbos are great, although you won't get more than 4-5/session.

If you can add Stud/8 and O/8 limit (more fish in limit and an easier learning curve than PLO/8) to your normal HE schedule, you won't be disappointed.

I get toasted everytime I try the cash games so I steer clear of those. Not sure why the tourny strategy won't hold up for me over there.

Nick_Foxx
12-22-2004, 06:32 PM
it is my experience that it is easier to win money at stud and stud/8 (and omaha/8 for that matter) than hold'em on-line

but i suck at hold'em

mike

Andy B
12-22-2004, 06:46 PM
My win rate is significantly higher at stud/8 than it is at hold'em, and I don't have that many losing sessions. Most people are pretty awful at the game, even guys who play other games well, so if you have a decent handle on it, you can do quite well with comparatively little risk. I also found high-only stud more profitable than hold'em back when I played it.

Michael Emery
12-23-2004, 06:14 AM
[ QUOTE ]