PDA

View Full Version : Aggressiveness is overrated...

MoDOH
12-21-2004, 04:44 PM
Party Poker 3/6 Hold'em (8 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

let me just comment on the preflop. If UTG hadnīt limped I would have mucked this hand preflop...

no real reads as I am new to the table

Preflop: Hero is UTG+1 with 4/images/graemlins/club.gif, 4/images/graemlins/heart.gif.
UTG calls, Hero calls, MP1 folds, MP2 calls, <font color="#CC3333">CO raises</font>, Button calls, SB folds, BB folds, UTG calls, Hero calls, MP2 calls.

Flop: (11.33 SB) A/images/graemlins/club.gif, 4/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 3/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets</font>, Hero calls, MP2 folds, CO calls, Button calls.

Turn: (7.66 BB) K/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets</font>, Hero calls, CO calls, Button calls.

River: (11.66 BB) 2/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">UTG bets</font>, Hero calls...

Derek in NYC
12-21-2004, 05:05 PM
This hand was played poorly, and the pot was large. On the flop, you may be facing two pair or a somewhat less likely gutshot, so why would you not raise? On the turn there is clearly a flush draw, so again, why are you not raising? On the river all the chickens come home to roost and you have a double-threat card, so you can neither raise nor call with much enthusiasm.

What I find even odder about this line is that in a different thread yesterday you were talking about "raising to protect your hand" with mere overcards. The pot size there (12 SBs) and here (11.5 SBs) are basically the same, as is the size of the field.

How can you reconcile raising with overcards to protect your hand, when you don't raise with a set?

rwinns
12-21-2004, 05:11 PM