PDA

View Full Version : Creating a website

thatpfunk
12-19-2004, 10:24 PM
I am looking to develop a website for myself. I am a writer and would be looking to do some simple stuff like posting archives, writings of the week, pictures, contact info, etc.

Any suggestiongs for books or websites to learn how to do so?

Thanks

gaming_mouse
12-19-2004, 10:30 PM
html is very easy to learn, but for what you want to do i wouldn't even bother. It sounds like a blog is all you need, and there are plenty of sites where you can them for free. I know alot of people use blogspot.com. There are tons of others though.

gm

thatpfunk
12-19-2004, 10:33 PM
I would like it to seem a little more professional than a blog as it would be giving examples of published works, links to buy, and info for potential publishers...

Leo99
12-19-2004, 10:34 PM
Get FrontPage from Microsoft. If you can use PowerPoint you can make a webpage. With FrontPage you create your webpages and the program writes the HTML for you behind the scenes. You may need to learn a little HTML to tweak things but it's not that hard. You need a place to host your website. Or almost as easy as the blogs but better is if you join up on Yahoo's Geocities. They have their own easy to use software to build your webpages or you can use FrontPage or HTML to create your own.

edtost
12-19-2004, 10:37 PM
paying for real hosting to avoid ads would help greatly in making his site look more professional.

Leo99
12-19-2004, 10:42 PM
I agree. Geocities is good to fool around with until you perfect your web site.

thatpfunk
12-19-2004, 10:43 PM
How would I go about learning html? Is it something you pick up as you're working on things or is there some instructional books/sites...

Thanks, you guys are awesome for stuff like this

Leo99
12-19-2004, 10:46 PM
Just jump in. If you have FrontPage, buy the FrontPage for Dummies book.

wacki
12-19-2004, 11:08 PM
[ QUOTE ]