PDA

View Full Version : Desparate help is needed

limodude
12-18-2004, 05:33 PM
I have been playing for about 4 months now and am in desperate need for help. The first thing I did was read the SSHE book which I felt I grasped quite well. I then read a bit of Doyle's book as well as Hold em for advanced players. I started off playing 2/4 and 3/6 online and was doing quite well. I was up over 500 in a matter of a week or so. I then go to my local card room once a week and had 9 winning weeks in a row averaging about $100 profit/week. Then everything went bad. I dont know what changed but I cant win to save my life. I have lost all the profit plus another 600. I have reread the SSHE twice and I dont know what to do next. What should my expectations be? Should I be playing lower limits? I do have a bankroll that can afford to go down a bit, but I dont want to keep throwing money at something that I am not improving at. So does anyone have advice on what steps I should take to improve? Thank you very much.

bdk3clash
12-18-2004, 05:45 PM
I would suggest you read a more beginner-oriented book ("Winning Low Limit Hold'em" by Lee Jones and "Internet Texas Hold'em" by Matthew Hilger are both excellent.)

Next, I'd play a bunch of hands at whatever stake you're comfortable with, though I would suggest you start quite low (like $0.50/1 on Party.) If you never want to redeposit/replenish your bankroll, keep in mind that most around here would advocate around 300 BBs, or $300 for the $0.50/1 game, and that's if you're a winning player. If you're not, no bankroll is big enough. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

If you're OK replenishing your bankroll, just play whatever stakes you feel like. That's why some of us have jobs and/or trust funds.