PDA

View Full Version : Fun Games for Total Novices

01-12-2002, 12:06 AM
Can anybody suggest some entertaining, relatively easy to learn, poker-type games for novices. A friend of my girlfriend wants to start a game with her friends for loose change, purely for fun and a pastime. She asked me to suggest games she can pass on to her friend.

I sent on a web site with stuff like Baseball, Follow the Queen, Chicago etc described, as well as HE and Omaha, but perhaps I can pick up some more games from the erudite folks here (wish I knew what erudite means).

Thanks for all suggestions

Graham

01-12-2002, 01:59 AM
Spin the bottle is always good. Particularly if they are all girls and you get to "oversee" the game.

But other than that if playing purely for fun get into games with wildcards (I despise them) or games like 3 card lou, or 7-27 which are not poker, but can be pretty fun.

01-12-2002, 03:47 AM
Adding simultaneous declaration hi-lo can add some nice spice to a lot of games. It only works if you have enough people, but simultaneous decl hi-lo Omaha should give everyone a reason to see a lot of flops, which is what people generally want in these kind of games.

Another good "just for fun" game is Crazy Pineapple. It's plays like Hold'em Hi-Lo (again, I recommend simultaneous declaration for just-for-fun games) except that everyone is dealt four cards, but must discard two after the flop (but before the post-flop betting round).

01-12-2002, 12:40 PM
Unfortunately, I'm barred from playing, but I like the way you're thinking...!

01-12-2002, 11:09 PM
I dislike wild card games too and never call them though the good thing about them is that when you're dealt a monster you can raise to your heart's content and always be paid off at the end.