PDA

View Full Version : Two Limit Hold'em Tourney Hands

07-24-2002, 12:27 AM
I am new to tournament play. I have done well in online one table tournaments, and have made the final few of a few online multitable tournaments, but I still feel like I'm getting my feet wet.

Two hands came up tonight at a relatively small tournament that I would like your help with.

Hand #1: Round 5 of the tournament, I open raise with 99 from middle position. I am immediately three bet by a player who is nearly all-in and is wild. The big blind calls two cold. The blinds are 100-200 and the action is 200-400. The flop is K-7-4. I bet the flop, and am raised by the player behind me. The big blind now calls two cold and I muck. I have approximately 1200 in chips. Correct?

Hand #2: Four players left, I have survived and am by far the shortest stack. I have 2600 in chips. The blinds are 300-500 and the action is 500-1000. I post 300 in the small blind, leaving me with 2300. I again have 99. The difference between 3rd place is 1.33 of 4th place. The button raises. I three bet, bet the K-T-6 flop and bet all in on the turn with the board K-T-6-7.

Three questions. Correct to three bet? Correct to bet the flop? Correct to bet all-in on the turn with only 600 in chips?

Results later.

07-24-2002, 12:40 AM
The results don't tell you much.

Hand 1: All-in player turns over 88. Big blind player turns over AT for no pair. I am learning a little bit about the big blind's calling station habits. At the time, I was not concerned about the all-in raise from the player behind me, but rather by the cold call by the big blind.