PDA

View Full Version : Books on Zen

The Dude
12-14-2004, 12:52 PM
I've decided to buy 3 or 4 books on Zen, and more than just familiarize myself with it. I need some recommendations on good books and translations to get me started, and to take me a step past introduction.

turnipmonster
12-14-2004, 01:12 PM
I assume you've read Alan Watts and D.T. Suzuki?

The Dude
12-14-2004, 01:22 PM
I have read neither, although I recognize DT Suzuki. Is he the one who wrote Zen Buddhism? I looked through a lot of books at Borders yesterday, but didn't have any idea what to get.

jakethebake
12-14-2004, 01:27 PM
My personal favorite is The Unfettered Mind. The Method of Zen by Herrigel and The Way of Zen by Watts are sort of classics. There's tons of reading on the Internet for free too.

turnipmonster
12-14-2004, 01:32 PM
disclaimer: I am no expert

for starters I recommend "The Way of Zen" by Alan Watts, and D.T. Suzuki's "Introduction to Zen Buddhism". Also by D.T. Suzuki are the "Essays on Zen Buddhism", I think a couple of volumes of essays by Suzuki.

Suzuki is basically the guy you want to read, however I have a soft spot for Watts and he does have an interesting perspective on it being a westerner. Also he provides a good historical overview of Buddhism which is necessary.

--turnipmonster

NLSoldier
12-14-2004, 02:06 PM
WHY?

jakethebake
12-14-2004, 02:08 PM
[ QUOTE ]
WHY?

[/ QUOTE ]
WHY? Let's meditate on that.....

The Dude
12-14-2004, 02:28 PM
Personal development, in addition to a growing interest in other cultures.

I went on a spending spree at Border's yesterday, and ended up getting Les Miserables (both the abridged and unabridged versions), The Iliad, The Odyssey, The Book of Five Rings, The Art of War (Sun Tsu), and several Michael Crichton books that ought to have been in my collection much sooner. I wanted to get some books on Zen, but didn't really know where to start.

Phat Mack
12-14-2004, 03:13 PM