PDA

View Full Version : Pushing My 8s

Sweaburg
12-13-2004, 11:12 PM
I'm a MTT newb. This hand takes place at an UB $10, $5000 gauranteed MTT.

Blinds 100/200 and I have about T3500. BB has about T8500 and LP has about 800.

I pick up 88 UTG+1 and limp. Folded to LP who pushes his last 800. Folded to BB who cold calls. Its 600 to me and I push.

Is my push good, bad or ugly?

I figure I am probably ahead of LP more than 50% of the time here as he will push with just about any two here. BB's cold-call makes me a little nervous but I think there's a decent chance he'll fold here. He is an unkown though as I've only been at the table with BB for 1 orbit and haven't seen him get heavily involved in a hand.

Other info...theres about 225 players left and top 60 money. I am shooting for top 5 and don't care too much about just making the money.

Thanks,
Randy

IrishSTAG15
12-17-2004, 06:17 AM
Only my second post, so don't take me too seriously...

I think it's OK. Reason being, I think with your stack, in your position, you have to either make some kind of raise or just fold this hand preflop and wait for a better spot.

After LP pushed, you obviously call if no one else does, but the BB coming in is bad for you - chances are, you're looking at 4 overcards drawing at you (if BB calls, which, considering pot size and his investment, he's probably calling with A10s or better anyway).

If you're really looking to advance in this tourney, and you have this hand, I think you have to raise or fold preflop. That being said, if you pushed and survived 2 people drawing at your middle pair, you're in a much more solid spot to make the big money.

kuro
12-17-2004, 09:15 AM
You've only got 200 invested in the hand. BB's smooth call may very well be an invitation for you to push because they've got a strong hand that either dominates you or at best is a coinflip. So just fold and look for a better spot.