PDA

View Full Version : All-in here?

05-17-2002, 01:55 AM
NL hold em, with the blinds at 30-60. It is 4 handed and I have only 240 in front of me. Table pays 3. I am the lowest stack.

UTG, I get 22. I know the button and the LB will fold 80% of the time to an all-in bet. I also know that the BB will call 80% of the time, as he has the chip lead, and that's his style anyway.

Do I fold and risk getting blinded out while waiting for something better, or do I push in with a hand that is almost never better than 50/50, and a big dog to any other pair? Why would you do whatever you would do?

Thanks,

-Marlow

p.s.-If you fold, what pocket pair is high enough to push in with?

05-17-2002, 02:43 PM
I'm pretty new to NL tournaments so take it with a grain of salt, but I wouldn't play 22 here. I would play it from the SB if the first two folded.

In your situation you can still back into the money by waiting. I would however go all in with any Ace, 77 or higher, suited K's.

05-17-2002, 05:39 PM
Marlow,

raise all in and pray. If only the BB calls, you will have a 50/50 situation most of the time. If so, you have a +EV since there is already dead money from the SB in the pot. Maybe everybody folds (you stated that the BB will fold 1 time out of 5), which is definitly what you hope for.

Furthermore: When itīs one out of the money, most players get a little too conservative. The BB being both a loose player and chipleader makes it even harder for the other 2 players to call. So you might get it heads up against a random hand. Why not try and take the chances. When you win, you might go for 1st (I donīt know the exact chipcounts). If you fold, you will probably have 150 after posting the blinds, so your next raise will be called for sure. This time you have a samll chance that everybody mucks his hand. Go for it.

Regards

Martin

05-17-2002, 06:55 PM