PDA

View Full Version : NLH Hand

05-16-2002, 12:47 AM
PokerStars $30 Tournament

About 60 players left, prizes last table.

I have $4600, about $1000 less than average, the blinds are $200-$400, $50 ante.

I'm BB with QQ. Mid-table first-in raiser makes it $6000!? Cut-off calls. I'm new to the table and have not played with either before.

Do you muck this hand?

MS Sunshine

05-16-2002, 01:58 AM
I called.

First-in raiser had J9o and caller had TT.

J9 wins with a straight.

I kicked myself for calling such a large bet from a first-in raiser with a caller, even though I was ahead, as it turned out.

MS Sunshine

05-16-2002, 04:45 AM
I probably would muck it because I'm a big coward.

Chances are the raiser has ace-big, but the caller certainly has a pair. In the best situation, the raiser has something like AJ and caller has TT, so you'll win the pot about half the time, getting 2-1. But some of the time it'll be AK and JJ, so there are 8 cards out against you, reducing the odds. And some of the time one of them has KK or AA, and you're buried.

In any case, I don't think I'd run that risk with my whole stack and still a good deal of room for maneuvre.

In the absence of a read, you have to assume the caller at least has a clue about what he's doing, so he'll have KK or AA most likely.

Off to read the results now and make myself feel stupid.

Guy.

05-16-2002, 04:46 AM
I was right, I do feel stupid now I've read the results.

Jack nine?

Guy.

05-16-2002, 08:27 AM
No !

The very fact that someone wants to go all in for 6000 with blinds 200-400 tells you that he isn't a good player. Therefore he could have a lot of hands. The cut-off could know this too. Or he could be another lunatic.

When playing on the Internet it is often worth considering the words of Homer Simpson when evaluating your opponents' play. "It's because they're stupid. That's why everybody does everything".

Andy.

05-16-2002, 10:06 AM