PDA

View Full Version : Stats Question

Hashiell_Dammett
12-07-2004, 03:33 PM
A couple of questions actually.

I used to only play in ring games and some MTTs but I started playing $5 and $10 S+Gs at Stars about 6 months ago. I'm including my stats for these S+Gs below.

I guess my first question is:
Is this sample size (203) even large enough to tell anything yet?

With a sample size this small, how certain can I be that my ROI is correct? +/- what?

As I continue to play more and more S+Gs at this level($5 and $10), are there any statiscal indicators that will tell me when it's time to move up to the $20 S+Gs?
Or do I just move up a level whenever I feel comfortable doing so?

Here are the stats.
Thanks
- Hash

One more thing if it matters: the S+G stats below are about 60% NL HE, 30% FL O8. The rest is a mixture of FLHE, PLO8 and PLO.
Which actually brings up one more question:

Should I be keeping track of different games separately if they are at the same money level?
I'm certain that I am equally competent in NLHE as in FLO8.
Thanks again.

Total of 203 tourneys processed

Total invested: $1819.00
Total won/lost: +$404.90
Return On Investment (ROI): +22.26%

Average percent rank finished: 64.46%
Percent times in the money: 48.77%

Average buy-in: $8.22
Average fee: $0.74

AleoMagus
12-07-2004, 04:16 PM
Go here:

www.aleomagus.freeservers.com/Spreadsheet (http://www.aleomagus.freeservers.com/Spreadsheet)

(don't link to this. go there manually) and download the confidence calculator.xls file. It should answer many of your questions for you.

To just answer your question though, you can be pretty sure that you are a winning player after a couple hundred and a 20% ROI, but little else.

To precisely answer your question, I'd need your 1/2/3 breakdown as this is important in figuring your SD. Still, if I just assume an even distribution and a 22% ROI, then I come up with the following:

$18.19 Standard deviation (at the $11 level)
97% winning confidence