PDA

View Full Version : Request help for buying a laptop

2trix
12-07-2004, 03:31 AM
I am a beginner who has been playing for the last 9 months online. I am winning overall though not a lot ( + 3000 $) in limit games. I wish to buy a laptop and was requesting help in buying the appropriate one to multi table with wireless cable modem. I would appreciate any input regarding the following;
Processor speed
Screen size and resolution ( 2 - 4 tables)
RAM
HD
Any particular company is better than others
and finally, if someone has any suggestion of a laptop which they have recently bought that they have liked.

I hope this was the correct section of 2+2 forum to post this query.

Thanks a lot to everyone in advance. Absolutely wonderful site !!

edfurlong
12-07-2004, 03:41 AM
I have also been taking a look at laptops. It seems that only the higher end ones will support 4 tabling. I'd like to find the cheapest one I can. Hopefully someone knowledgable will chime in.

Bodhi
12-07-2004, 04:12 AM
Maybe "books/software" is better place? I know this is a hardware question but that's the closest there is! /images/graemlins/grin.gif

cjromero
12-07-2004, 09:00 AM
This should have been posted in the Zoo (the Internet forum), but there's no reason you would know that.

If you read the posts on the Zoo for the last 2 or 3 days, there are several threads seeking the same advice. You can also do a search for "Dell laptop" and get lots of advice that way.

If you intend on multitabling, most posters here would strongly suggest that you get a laptop with screen resolution that goes up to 1600 x 1200. That way, you can play up to 4 tables at once with no overlap.

Dell runs specials on their Inspiron 8600 laptop frequently. I just bought one last month to use for poker and it is fantastic. If you want the specs of the one I bought, PM me and I will be happy to provide them to you.

Craig

2trix
12-07-2004, 03:57 PM