PDA

View Full Version : Poker and Investing

cmmcnjd
12-04-2004, 04:15 PM
I have been playing online poker for about two years now without any kind of specific overall financial objective in mind. With no intention of ever playing for a living and no immediate need to use the money I am able to win, I typically just let it build and then move up a level as appropriate. The other day it occurred to me that I'm pretty comfortable where I'm at (100 and 200 NL) and that I have no grander aspirations. I then got to thinking about my winnings as extra income and what I've always done with extra income in the past is invest.

Say I'm able to clear $200 a week (which I think is entirely feasible given my results thus far). Invested monthly in a tax-deferred account at a 9% rate of return (historical average of a balanced portfolio) my winnings would total approximately $1.4 million after 30 years. Make it 40 years (age 65) and the total reaches $3.7 million. This nice little chunk of change would be on top of retirement savings amassed through my actual occupation. Realizing that I can put even modest winnings to such highly productive use now makes my time spent playing feel worthwhile in addition to fun. Are there others out there who are making similar use of their poker earnings?

Freakin
12-04-2004, 04:56 PM
I think you overestimate your ability to play poker willingly for the next 40 years. Also, it is important to discount the 1.4 or 3.7M for the effects of inflation, a historical rate of 3% going back to 1925. That will better allow you to see what you're actually looking at (and I'd use a lower interest rate for my portfolio, since you're looking at this for retirement income, not shorter term investments). I'm going to be getting married in a year or so, so I've been looking at the bankroll for kid's college education, and paying off the principle on my home, rather than long term investment.